About Neurostatus and EDSS

Purpose of Neurostatus e-Test
Purpose of Neurostatus Training
Historical Background
Structure of EDSS

Historical Background

The EDSS was initially introduced in 1955 as the “Disability Status Scale,” a 10-step overall disability rating scale. It was subsequently extended in 1983 by the introduction of half steps, leading to a total of 20 steps ranging from 0 to 10, separated by half-point increments.

Dr. John Kurtzke initially validated his scale on 250 hospitalised World War 2 veterans, who were suffering from MS. These circumstances may explain some of the peculiarities of this scale, which later have been subject to criticism.

In spite of its shortcomings (to be discussed separately), the EDSS has become the most widely used scale for impairment and disability rating in MS and has been used in practically all national and international therapy studies.