About Neurostatus and EDSS

Purpose of Neurostatus e-Test
Purpose of Neurostatus Training
Historical Background
Structure of EDSS

Structure of EDSS

The EDSS is based on a standardised neurological examination, but focuses on the symptoms that occur frequently in MS.

Assessment of the seven Functional Systems (FS: visual, brainstem, pyramidal, cerebellar, sensory, bowel / bladder and cerebral) is based on a standardised neurological examination ( see Figure 1).

Based on the FS scores and on the assessment of walking range, the EDSS step is determined. The range of the EDSS includes 20 half steps from 0 to 10, with EDSS step 0 corresponding to a completely normal examination and EDSS step 10 to death due to MS. For EDSS ratings between 0 and 4, the scale relies mainly on the scores of the individual FS. For ratings over 4, the EDSS is primarily determined by the ability and range of walking ( see Figure 2).